The Whigs – Mission Control

The latest release from The Whigs, “Mission Control” (1/22/08) features lead man Parker Disperts’ growling vocals over a alt-rock record that force feeds you hook after hook. Joined by producer Rob Schnapf (Beck, Elliot Smith) the group seems to hit all the right chords on a record that makes you excited about the capabilities the young trio has yet to harness. I was lucky enough to catch The Whigs open up for chicago favorite, The Redwalls, and these guys have an unbelievably full sound. When I walked in I heard a 6 piece band, but when I got a closer look, I saw there were only 3 guys on stage.

Highlights Include, “Like A Vibration”, “1,000 Wives”, “I Got Ideas”, and instant calssic “Right Hand On My Heart

Reviewed Reviews:

Rolling Stone

Spin

Pitchfork

Helpful Links:

Home Page

MySpace

Last.fm

Upcoming Tour Dates:

4/11/08 Clemson, SC
4/12/08: Columbus, OH
4/19/08: Statesboro, GA
4/23/08: Louisville, KY
5/01/08: West Palm Beach, FL

Music video for “Right Hand On My Heart“:

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

